Nan T. Achnas

Nan T. Achnas



Nan T. Achnas graduated from the Faculty of Film and Television, Jakarta Institute of the Arts. She studied for an MA in Film Studies at the University of East Anglia, in the United Kingdom, and her diploma film, entitled THE ONLY DAY (1988), won the Grand Prix at the Asian Young Cinema Film Festival in Tokyo.

In 1997, she produced, directed and scripted a collective feature film with three other directors (Mira Lesmana, Riri Riza, and Rizal Mantovani), entitled KULDESAK (1999). She directed and co-wrote WHISPERING SANDS (2001), a feature-length film that has since won nine international awards, including Best New Director at the 2002 Asia-Pacific International Film Festival, and both a FIPRESCI and NETPAC Award. In 2002, she produced and directed THE FLAG (2002), in competition at the Tokyo International Film Festival 2003, and her feature THE PHOTOGRAPH (2007) won the Grand Prize at the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival in 2008, among other awards.

Films Selection

  • The Flag - 2002
  • Whispering Sands - 2001
  • Kuldesak - 1999