European Film Promotion

Celebrating the differences that make European cinema great with a handful of yearly initiatives.

EFP (European Film Promotion) is a unique network of the national film promotion institutes from 37 countries from throughout Europe, each representing their national films and talent abroad. Under the EFP flag, these organisations come together to jointly promote the diversity and spirit of European cinema and talent at key international film festivals and markets, in particular outside of Europe. EFP is financially supported by the Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the EU.

Each year at the Cannes Film Festival, 20 promising, up-and-coming producers from throughout Europe are selected to participate in Producers on the Move. The initiative is aimed at connecting young, enterprising European producers with potential co-production partners, strengthening their industry networks and, at the same time, providing a solid and visible platform for this next generation of European filmmakers.

Discover the films produced by the selected producers:
SLOVENIA: The Family by Rok Biček, produced by Rok Biček
DENMARK: Aniara by Pella Kågerman and Hugo Lilja, produced by Nina Bisgaard
NORWAY: The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open by Kathleen Hepburn and Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers, produced by Dyveke Bjørkly Graver
GERMANY: End of Season by Elmar Imanov, produced by Eva Blondiau
LATVIA: The Chronicles of Melanie by Viestur Kairish, produced by Inese Boka-Grūbe
SWITZERLAND: Chris the Swiss by Anja Kofmel, produced by Sereina Gabathuler
UNITED KINGDOM: I Am Not a Witch by Rungano Nyoni, produced by **Emily Morgan **SWEDEN: Borg/McEnroe by Janus Metz, produced by Jon Nohrstedt
POLAND: Brothers by Wojciech Staroń, produced by Małgorzata Staroń
SPAIN: Callback by Carles Torras, produced by Carles Torras
ITALY: Menocchio by Alberto Fasulo, produced by Nadia Trevisan SERBIA: The Other Side of Everything by Mila Turajlić, produced by Mila Turajlić
HUNGARY: A Woman Captured by Bernadett Tuza-Ritter, produced by Julianna Ugrin PORTUGAL: The Battle of Tabatô by João Viana, produced by **João Viana **BELGIUM: Gangsta by Adil El Arbi, Bilall Fallah, produced by **Hendrik Verthé **THE NETHERLANDS: My Extraordinary Summer with Tess by Steven Wouterlood, produced by Joram Willink

Taking a stand for gender diversity in film, EFP successfully launched EUROPE! VOICES OF WOMEN IN FILM at the Sydney Film Festival (SFF) in 2016. In close cooperation with SFF, the programme recognizes new works by some of Europe's most exciting women directors and presents them in a dedicated section of the festival. Suggested by the respective EFP member organisations and selected by festival director Nashen Moodley, the programme highlights the virtuosity and strength of innovative European cinema by women film artists and features their work to Sydney's enthusiastic audience, press and Australia's welcoming and promising market.
Please discover this year’s line-up:

EFP Future Frames - Generation NEXT of European Cinema presents ten outstanding directors from film schools and universities from throughout Europe and their short films. Recommended by their national film promotion institutes and selected and hosted by the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, this year’s group of up-and-coming filmmakers includes two Student Academy Award winners and one nominee. The ten outstanding filmmakers take part in a three-day tailor-made networking programme to ease their way into the international film scene supported by extensive promotion and press coverage.
Please discover this year’s line-up:

EFP EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS, one of EFP's flagship programmes, has placed some of the most promising young actors from all over Europe into the limelight over the past 23 years and proven to be an essential stepping stone for launching their international careers.

Discover the shooting stars playing leading roles in the recent films:
BULGARIA: Martina Apostolova in IRINA by Nadejda Koseva
DENMARK: Victoria Carmen Sonne in HOLIDAY by Isabella Eklöf
ESTONIA: Pääru Oja in MIHKEL by Ari Alexander Ergis Magnússon
FRANCE: Zita Hanrot in FATIMA by Philippe Faucon
GEORGIA: Levan Gelbakhiani in AND THEN WE DANCED by Levan Akin
GERMANY: Jonas Dassler in THE GOLDEN GLOVE by Fatih Akin
THE NETHERLANDS: Bilal Wahib in BROTHERS by Hanro Smitsman
POLAND: Bartosz Bielenia in CORPUS CHRISTI by Jan Komasa
PORTUGAL: Joana Ribeiro in CRUTCHES by Luis Campos
SWITZERLAND: Ella Rumpf in SYMPATHY FOR THE DEVIL by Guillaume de Fontenay